The last run in the Harvest Half Series is now complete! This actually ended up being my favorite race in the series, for a number of reasons.

  • It was a beautiful course. We began in Shawnee Mission Park, and then connected with the Mill Creek Trail. We saw parts of the lake within Shawnee Mission Park, and because the trail is a paved trail in wooded areas, the fall colors were just beautiful.
  • I trained for my full marathon on the Mill Creek Trail. This was a very comfortable route for me and I knew exactly where every uphill, downhill, and flat would be along the course.
  • The goal of the run was to enjoy myself – I wasn’t aiming for a time goal. I was just able to breathe in the cold air and have a good time. Since I was still trying to get close to my KC Half time at the other two races (and failed spectacularly), I didn’t enjoy them as much.
  • The race was well organized with an awesome medal (let’s be honest, it’s all about the medal).


Now, this course wasn’t an easy one. The vast majority of the final 2 miles are uphill (with lots of running hills throughout the entire course). I even walked up a few of the uphills at the end because my back was hurting (it’s better now, so it doesn’t appear to be a lasting issue). The only lingering soreness that I have today is in my right hamstring, probably thanks to all those stupid hills.

And at the end of the race, we were rewarded with a slice of pumpkin pie. Does post-race food get any better than pumpkin pie? I think not!

Surprisingly, my time for this race was right in the middle of my results for the entire series. The first race (Kansas Half) was the slowest at 02:25ish, the 2nd race (Gobbler Grind) was the fastest at 02:22ish, and I came in around 02:23ish for the Pilgrim Pacer.

To be honest, it’s a little frustrating since a ran the Kansas City Half (another difficult course) in 02:15:55 just last month – but I’m been racing A LOT.  And I completed 3 half marathons in 15 days for this series – that’s still impressive, right? (The correct answer is yes, Kayla, that’s super impressive).

And, as the name of this blog suggests, I’m just a regular girl. The fact that my body is capable of running a half marathon at all, especially after running a full marathon just last month, is something to celebrate. I couldn’t do this a year ago – a year ago, I couldn’t even run 3 miles yet. I was on my way, but I wasn’t there – and we tend to get caught up in what we can’t or didn’t accomplish instead of all the awesome things that we CAN and HAVE accomplished.

And that leads me to the subject of my next post, so stayed tuned.

