In 2015, I ran my first 5k – The Great Santa Run 5k.
So, of course, I wanted to run the race again this year.

2015 chip time:38:33
2016 chip time: 30:34

I am capable of running a 5k several minutes faster than I did this weekend, but I wasn’t concerned about that at all. Because I’ve learned that every race doesn’t have to be about the chip time – sometimes, you can just run the race to enjoy yourself.

And I wanted to enjoy this race. This was a celebration of all of my accomplishments. It was a celebration of all that I’ve done since running this same race last year.

I know I’ve said this before – but it still floors me that I’ve managed to run a full marathon and several half marathons, when it’s only been one year since I ran my first 3 miles. But that’s a large part of the reason that this particular race is so special to me – it’s where it all really started for me.

Also, I dressed up. Sure, all I did was wear a Christmas sweater, but I’ve never done that before, so it was fun and new. By the way, it is not super comfortable to run in a sweater. I do not recommend.

Do you remember your first race? Have you run it again since?

 

