In last post, I reviewed my running over the past year. And now, it’s time to look forward. I’ll admit that it’s going to be very difficult to top the accomplishments of 2016.

I PR’d in every single race distances and I ran my first marathon (so, automatic PR. Awesome, right?). I also ran 21 races. That’s a lot of races. It was a big year.

So what am I going to do in 2017?

Well, the first thing that I’m going to do is simplify. I’m NOT going to run 21 races. Instead, I’ve decided to choose just a few races and focus more heavily on training. There are a few benefits to this approach – it’s less likely I’ll burn out, I can focus on the races and distances that are most important to me, and I’ll save money (I spent SO much money on race registrations last year).

Because I’m going to run less races, I really want to make the ones that I do run count. One of those races is the Garmin Marathon. Ultimately, my only goal is to run this marathon faster than my previous one – which won’t be easy, as this particular course is much more difficult (read: Hilly AF) than the one I ran last year (MO Cowbell Marathon – great race, and a flat course).  But despite the difficulty, it’s still a quite realistic goal.

The other distance in which I want to PR is the 10k. In 2016, I wanted to run a sub-30 minute 5k, ultimately running a 27:08 5k in October. The fastest 10k that I ran last year was 01:01:34 – so now my goal is to run a sub-60 minute 10k. There aren’t nearly as many 10k races available as 5k races, but I’ll still have a few chances to make this happen.

The second thing that I’m going to do is cross-train. I really enjoy yoga, and toward the end of last year, I started practicing more (both in the studio and at home). I hope to continue this in 2017 and would like to practice yoga at least twice a week.

And really, that’s all! Of course, I might add some goals as the year continues, but for now, that’s what I’m aiming to accomplish this year.

What are your goals for 2017?

 

