The first month of 2017 is pretty much in the books. Isn’t that crazy? I’ve basically finished up my training for this month, and finished my first race of 2017. I can’t wait to see what my coach has in store as the focus switches from the 10k to the marathon.

Monday (1/23): Rest Day
As I mentioned last week, this was my birthday! Yay! I was happy that it fell on a day that was designated as a rest day, because I didn’t have to worry about getting in my daily miles in addition to all of the fun birthday festivities.

As usual, I made sure to walk around enough to get my 1o,000 steps. So far, I’ve managed to do that every day this month. It was part of my goals for the new year – to be less lazy on rest days! I’m sure I’ve mentioned that before – but it was pretty sad just how lazy I could be on days that weren’t running days.

 

Tuesday (1/24): 3 miles @ easy pace
I ran 3 miles on the indoor track at an easy pace. I’m letting myself get really spoiled with this indoor track! But we’d had a major cold snap and it was just too tempting to stay inside.

Plus, my race on Sunday was underground. Really, running inside was better preparation for the race than running outside. That’s my justification.

Wednesday (1/25): Cross Training
I had originally planned to run another 3 miles at an easy pace, but I wasn’t feeling well at all on Wednesday. So I opted to take a walk and consider that some light cross training instead. With the race on Sunday, I didn’t want to take any chances.

I played it safe, which I think ended up being the right call.

Thursday (1/26): Speed workout
I didn’t actually have much of a speed workout this week. Instead, I did a set of short speed bursts at the end of a normal run. It went like this:

3 miles @ easy pace
4 x 1 min @ 1ok target pace (9:40/mile)

 

I didn’t have any issues completing the speed bursts within target pace, and my 3 miles went well too, which eased some of my concerns. I was worried because I wasn’t feeling well – I actually thought about taking an extra rest day but decided to at least give it a try (thinking I’d call it a day if I felt bad) and was pretty happy that it turned out just fine.

 Friday (1/27): Rest Day
Another rest day! Yay!

Saturday (1/28): Shakeout Run
I ran a really easy 2 miles, followed by 4 strides. Before working with a coach, I took a rest day before a race. Shakeout runs are new to me. But I definitely see the value in them. The difficult part is keeping the pace really nice and slow so that you’re ready to race.

Sunday (1/29): 10k Race Day
I plan to write a race recap, so I don’t want to hash it out too much. But the race went well for the most part. I did PR, but I was just shy of goal pace. I have mixed emotions about the outcome.

Race re-cap is coming up soon!

