Regular Girl Running

Not fast, but not last. A regular girl that likes to run.

Training

Training Recap: 1/30-2/5

Another week, complete! This week is going to be very busy for me at work and with evening commitments. I’m not sure how training will end up going in light of all that I’m juggling. The good news is that it’s just this week, and next week I’ll go back to a much calmer schedule.

But anyway, here’s what happened last week:

Monday (1/30): Rest Day
As usual, I made sure to at least go for a walk and get my 10k steps!

Tuesday (1/31): 3 miles @ easy pace
Once again, I ran 3 miles on the indoor track. I have to say – I’m so ready for Spring weather to arrive. We’ve had a few teasers, but nothing that’s lasted more than a day or two.

Since I try and run over my lunch hours, it makes deciding what to pack fairly tricky. I never know what the weather will be like in the afternoon. So I still find myself running on the indoor track a lot, and then I always know exactly what I’ll need to bring in my gym bag.

Wednesday (2/1): Cross Training/Rest
I should have run on Wednesday, but to be honest, I was just feeling tired and drained and didn’t really want too. So I just did some walking to reach my daily step goal and called it a day.

Thursday (2/2): 4 miles @ easy pace
No speed workout this week! Since the 10k race is over, speed is no longer the focus. It’s now about getting quality miles and increasing the mileage to get ready for the marathon.

At least, I think that’s the plan moving forward. There’s a few things that are up in the air right and I need to talk to my coach – but at least for this week, there was no speed work.

Friday (2/3): Rest Day
I was honestly pretty lazy on Friday. I didn’t even hit my minimum goal of 10k steps that I usually strive to achieve on rest days.

It was a good day, but we’d had dinner with some family and gotten home later than normal, at which point I just wanted to relax!

Saturday (2/4): Long Run
Today’s long run was 60-70 minutes. It was really cold and windy, so I ran on the treadmill. I did 6 miles, which was about 64 minutes.

Does anyone else find that they tend to be slower on the treadmill? This isn’t necessarily a bad thing for longer runs or easy paced runs, because it helps me keep my pace easy – but for some reason, I just don’t run as fast on the treadmill as I do when I’m outside.

Sunday (2/5):  3 miles @ easy pace (Kickoff 5k)
I needed to run 3 miles on Sunday, and our cousin (technically, the husband’s cousin) was running in a 5k. So I decided to join too! The husband has been hurt, so he was just there for support. I didn’t even worry about my own pace, and just ran with Evan. It was really fun. It was a small race too, on a good course with some rolling hills, and I really enjoyed the run.

 

Leave a Reply

